LabTech Support Forums

share script variable between several machines

This forum is for discussion of script related issues.

Moderator: jware.connectwise

share script variable between several machines

Postby brink.totalbusinessware » Wed Dec 28, 2016 10:55 pm

Hi,

I am looking for some "best practice" or high level advice. I am very new to LT and see several potential solutions to this problem.

I need to run software upgrades on several machines, but only after machine 1 has successfully run the upgrade. I am using "set variable" constant and "variable check" but its not working. My assumption was that since the set variable constant function runs on the server it would be available to the other machines running the same script at the same time. That does not appear to be the case. Is there a way to do this with variables?

Instead of variables, I could poll a "flag.txt" file as suggested here: viewtopic.php?f=100&t=17388&p=26759&hilit=variable+check#/ -not very elegant, but it would work.

Or maybe since the software needs to have same version across the location, I should create an EDF at the location level and use EDF SET / EDF GET.

Anyone care to weigh in or suggest better ideas?

Thanks in advance,

Bob
brink.totalbusinessware

Re: share script variable between several machines

Postby teamits » Thu Dec 29, 2016 12:54 pm

Variable Set is per script run.

Script State is saved for that computer, across script runs. (to the point of, remember to reset the variable when the script completes successfully)

If you need a value that can differ for each location using a custom field is probably the best bet.
Steve
teamits

Postby brink.totalbusinessware » Thu Dec 29, 2016 1:19 pm

Hi,

>Variable Set is per script run.

To be perfectly clear, if I run 1 script simultaneously on 5 computers, you consider that 5 "script runs"?

thanks again,

Bob
brink.totalbusinessware

Postby teamits » Thu Dec 29, 2016 1:24 pm