LabTech Support Forums

Server Address failover not functioning

This forum is for discussion of template related issues.

Moderator: jware.connectwise

Server Address failover not functioning

Postby jagnew.ignitionmsp » Mon Jul 04, 2011 12:11 pm

Has anyone tested the Server Address failover functionality?

I have a template with multiple addresses for the labtech server seperated by a | (pipe) as per documentation.

I can see that the corresponding reg key is set on the agents, however if I kill the first address to test failover to the second the agents go offline and do not come back online until the principle address is brought back.

I also have a second template group setup with agents that are just using the secondary address. They are all checking in fine. It's only agents that have it as a failover that is failing.

Has anyone else implimented this? Is it working for you?
Jeremy Agnew - Service Manager
The Ignition Group of Technology Companies

E-Mail: jagnew@ignitionmsp.com
Web: http://www.ignitionmsp.com
jagnew.ignitionmsp
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 7:58 am

Re: Server Address failover not functioning

Postby jagnew.ignitionmsp » Mon Jul 04, 2011 1:30 pm

update on this.

the address failover only seems to work once I restart the labtech service on the agent (either through a reboot, or services snap-in).
Jeremy Agnew - Service Manager
The Ignition Group of Technology Companies

E-Mail: jagnew@ignitionmsp.com
Web: http://www.ignitionmsp.com
jagnew.ignitionmsp
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 7:58 am

Re: Server Address failover not functioning

Postby teamits » Tue Jul 05, 2011 11:15 am

I reported this bug in September 2010 (ticket 107349) that new server addresses do not take effect until after the agent service is restarted. It's not that it won't use the failover it's that it does not "see" the server address setting has changed despite the configuration being applied. I think this is a very dangerous bug, and someone who uses an IP address instead of a hostname risks losing communication with their agents if they change ISPs.

At the time the ticket communication to me was that the issue " has been reported to be handled accordingly."
Steve
teamits
Hero Member
Hero Member
 
Posts: 1577
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm

Re: Server Address failover not functioning

Postby teamits » Tue Jul 05, 2011 11:58 am

If you're brave you can stop the agent service via the control center, and the secondary Labtech service should start it again for you, in a few minutes. (the restart command of course won't work because once it's stopped the agent doesn't check in to get the start command).
Steve
teamits
Hero Member
Hero Member
 
Posts: 1577
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm

Re: Server Address failover not functioning

Postby jagnew.ignitionmsp » Tue Jul 05, 2011 2:11 pm

I've got a VB script posted here: http://www.labtechsoftware.com/home/forums/viewtopic.php?f=83&t=15374&p=18839#p18839you fire it off on one computer in a client's domain and it will find and restart the labtech service for all online computers on that domain. It's the best I can do on short notice, but it works for us now provided someone is available on the client domain to execute the script if you have no remote access
Jeremy Agnew - Service Manager
The Ignition Group of Technology Companies

E-Mail: jagnew@ignitionmsp.com
Web: http://www.ignitionmsp.com
jagnew.ignitionmsp
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 7:58 am


Return to Templates

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron