LabTech Support Forums

Modifying Ignite Scripts Question

This forum is for discussion of expansion script related issues.

Moderator: jware.connectwise

Modifying Ignite Scripts Question

Postby darrell.ping.beinetworks » Fri Apr 19, 2013 3:16 pm

So we are getting TONS of tickets from the Ignite Scripts, which is ok. But there are some we would like to convert to alerts. Is there an easy was to copy/modify the scripts to still do their action (Ex Kill Bad Process or Restart Service) and then send an alert not a ticket? Im pretty new to this scriptting language so dont have all the stuff down. Thanks!

-D
darrell.ping.beinetworks

Re: Modifying Ignite Scripts Question

Postby mware.tabinc » Mon Apr 22, 2013 9:01 am

All (most?) of these scripts are under the Autofix Actions folder. What we did was right click and "copy script" on the script we wanted to override, the edit the copy, and remove / rewrite the ticketing sections to generate alerts instead. That way the original script is still in place and the changes will not get over-written by any Labtech updates.

To change the script from generating tickets to alerts, look for a lines like:
"RUN SCRIPT: _System Automation\Functions\Ticket Comment*"
"RUN SCRIPT: _System Automation\Functions\Ticket Finish*"
"RUN SCRIPT: _System Automation\Functions\Ticket AutoFix Post Time*"
etc...

In the "Monitor Restart Service" script you will see these at lines 26, 48, 50, 55 and 59. In our case we had enough scripting background to restructure the script and remove these sections, but if you are not comfortable doing that, simply change these lines to be either a "Script Log Message" (which would do nothing) or "LTServer Create Alert" to generate the alert message you are looking for.

Once the monitor script is re-written, track down the internal monitor under your service plan groups and use the "edit the Alerts" button to change the script from the LabTech default to the new one.

-Mike
mware.tabinc