LabTech Support Forums

Windows Firewall

This forum is for discussion of maintenance window related issues.

Moderator: jware.connectwise

Windows Firewall

Postby hrumbough » Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:45 am

Anyone have a way/script to control Windows Firewall from Labtech? Add Exceptions, turn off/on, etc?
hrumbough
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 4:48 pm

Re: Windows Firewall

Postby ed.managed-technologies » Fri Mar 02, 2012 12:46 pm

Has this ever been answered? I have the same question. thanks.
ed.managed-technologies
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 12:53 am

Re: Windows Firewall

Postby jamescook.technologyville » Thu Apr 25, 2013 6:32 pm

Take a look at these links. Good for reference and commands examples. This is what I use for most of my firewall changes from command line scripts.

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/libr ... 10%29.aspx
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/947709

netsh is your friend. Just be careful with it. Some items can be detrimental to your network connectivity.

One I have found super useful is blowing away the IP Stack on machines that have been infected with malicious content.This tends to help with any items that may have hooks into the network adapters.

i.e. netsh int ip reset /L c:\resetip.log

That may cause a reboot prompt and could potentially cause connectivity issues. Another one I use from time to time is this one....

i.e netsh int ip set address "Local Area Connection" dhcp


Now all you have to do is create shell scripts or commands and you are good to go for running immediately or scheduling.
jamescook.technologyville
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 5:44 pm


Return to Maintenance Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest